Benefit


Fast provision of analysis results

Kind of data


KPIs such as number of passengers, quality indicators or punctuality

Methods


Generation of dashboards directly from R


Knowledge transfer workshop: R Shiny apps for Deutsche Bahn Analytics

Challenge

DB Analytics is the specialist for statistical and mathematical methods within Deutsche Bahn AG and relies on the open source programming language R. DB Analytics develops dashboards for the information transfer to the specialist departments and the Executive Board, with which KPIs such as passenger numbers, quality indicators or punctualities can be professionally visualized. In order to keep the analytical workflow consistent and avoid software breakdowns, an option was sought to enable dashboard creation directly from R.

Aim

In order to meet the above mentioned requirements, the Shiny framework should be evaluated. Shiny can be used to create interactive web applications with R code, which can be used intuitively by users without programming knowledge. For the efficient and practice-oriented acquisition of knowledge, an exemplary Shiny app should be created in a hands-on workshop.

Solution

Together with DB Analytics employees, eoda has prototypically replicated an existing dashboard solution with Shiny. When selecting the dashboard, it was paid attention to the fact that it ensured meeting the complex requirements, such as linked filters or interactively linked user interface elements. During the joint and agile development of the R Shiny app, the individual development steps and the underlying concepts were intensively discussed with the employees. Furthermore, the workshop gave an overview of methods and packages that support the creation of high-quality Shiny applications.

Result

After the workshop with eoda, the DB Analytics team is able to quickly and attractively make analysis results available to other employees in the group with Shiny. The evaluation of R Shiny was successfully completed.


We also realize your project

Get in touch!

Vorteile


Schnelle Bereitstellung von Analyseergebnissen

Daten


KPIs wie Passagierzahlen, Qualitätskennzahlen oder Pünktlichkeiten

Methode


Dashboarderstellung direkt aus R heraus


Knowledge-Transfer-Workshop: R Shiny-Apps – Deutsche Bahn Analytics

Herausforderung

DB Analytics ist der Spezialist für statistische und mathematische Methoden innerhalb der Deutschen Bahn AG und setzt dabei u.a. auf die Open-Source-Programmiersprache R. Zur Weitergabe von Informationen an die Fachbereiche und den Vorstand entwickelt DB Analytics Dashboards, mit denen KPIs wie z.B. Passagierzahlen, Qualitätskennzahlen oder Pünktlichkeiten professionell visualisiert werden können. Um den analytischen Workflow konsistent zu halten und Softwarebrüche zu vermeiden, wurde nach einer Option gesucht, um die Dashboarderstellung direkt aus R heraus zu ermöglichen.

Ziel

Um die oben genannten Anforderungen zu erfüllen, sollte das Framework „Shiny“ evaluiert werden. Mit Shiny lassen sich interaktive Webapplikationen mit R-Code erstellen, die sich von Anwendern ohne Programmierkenntnisse intuitiv bedienen lassen. Zur effizienten und praxisorientierten Aneignung von Wissen, sollte in einem Hands-on-Workshop eine beispielhafte Shiny-App erstellt werden.

Lösung

eoda hat gemeinsam mit Mitarbeitern von DB Analytics eine bestehende Dashboard-Lösung mit Shiny prototypisch nachgebaut. Bei der Auswahl des Dashboards wurde darauf geachtet, dass es auch komplexen Anforderungen, wie z.B. verknüpften Filtern oder interaktiv verbundenen User-Interface-Elementen, genügt. Während der gemeinsamen und agilen Entwicklung der Shiny-App, wurden mit den Mitarbeitern die einzelnen Entwicklungsschritte und die dahinterliegenden Konzepte intensiv diskutiert. Darüber hinaus hat der Workshop einen Überblick über Methoden und Pakete gegeben, die bei der Erstellung hochwertiger Shiny-Applikationen unterstützen.

Ergebnis

Das Team von DB Analytics ist nach dem Workshop mit eoda in der Lage, Analyseergebnisse mit Shiny schnell und ansprechend anderen Mitarbeitern im Konzern zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Evaluation von Shiny wurde erfolgreich abgeschlossen.



Wir realisieren auch Ihr Projekt

Sprechen Sie uns an!