Benefit


Precise grid loss for the upcoming day

Kind of data


Database of the transmission system operator

Methods


Data mining, cluster analysis, random forest, generalized additive model (GAM) and gradient boosting


Precise forecasting models – 50Hertz

Challenge

The transmission system operator 50Hertz ensures that electricity in northern and eastern Germany is provided where it is needed – at the customer’s site. But while the electricity is being transported, physical losses occur. These grid losses must be compensated by purchasing the predicted loss quantity via an electricity exchange.

Ziel

Precise forecasts are indispensable so that the customer knows exactly how much electricity has to be compensated due to grid losses – so 50Hertz uses various statistical models to calculate the possible amount of losses at the previous day. In order to optimize the predictions of grid losses, data sets with the actual grid losses are evaluated in combination with the predicted feed-in of wind and photovoltaic energy.

Solution

To identify potential patterns in the data of the observed network losses, eoda uses data mining techniques: Information is filtered from data sets, new variables are extracted and compressed via cluster analysis.

For the customer’s specific application, eoda selected the appropriate method set and tested the methods random forest, generalized additive model (GAM) and gradient boosting for their predictive performance. The models with the highest accuracy were recommended to the customer.

Result

50Hertz can use the models supplied to forecast more precisely how high the grid losses will be for the coming day and thus compensate for the quantity of electricity on the exchange more cost-effectively.

The key is in the data: A seemingly thin database is analyzed with the help of eoda’s data mining – the result is reliable forecasting models that enable the customer to purchase the amount of electricity lost due to grid losses in a predictable and thus cost-effective manner.

Result

We also realize your project

Get in touch!

Vorteile


Präziser Netzverlust für den kommenden Tag

Daten


Datenbasis des Übertragungsnetzbetreibers

Methoden


Data Mining, Clusteranalyse, Random Forest, Generalized Additive Model (GAM) und Gradient Boosting


Präzise Prognosemodelle – 50Hertz

Herausforderung

Der Übertragungsnetzbetreiber 50Hertz sorgt dafür, dass im Norden und Osten Deutschlands der Strom dorthin gelangt, wo er gebraucht wird: beim Kunden. Doch während der Strom transportiert wird, entstehen physikalisch bedingte Verluste. Diese Netzverluste müssen durch den Ankauf der prognostizierten Verlustmenge über eine Strombörse kompensiert werden.

Ziel

Damit der Auftraggeber genau weiß, welche Strommenge er aufgrund der Netzverluste kompensieren muss, sind präzise Prognosen unabdingbar – bereits am Vortag errechnet 50Hertz daher mithilfe verschiedener statistischer Modelle die mögliche Verlustmenge. Um die Vorhersagen der Netzverluste weiter zu optimieren, werden Datensätze mit den tatsächlichen Netzverlusten in Kombination mit der prognostizierten Einspeisung von Wind- und Photovoltaikenergie ausgewertet.

Lösung

Um potenzielle Muster in den Daten der beobachteten Netzverluste zu erkennen, nutzt eoda Techniken des Data Minings: Aus Datensätzen werden Informationen gefiltert, neue Variablen extrahiert und via Clusteranalyse verdichtet.

Für den spezifischen Anwendungsfall des Kunden wählte eoda das passende Methodenset und testete die Verfahren Random Forest, Generalized Additive Model (GAM) und Gradient Boosting auf ihre Prognoseleistung. Die Modelle mit der höchsten Treffergenauigkeit wurden dem Kunden empfohlen.

Ergebnis

50Hertz kann anhand der gelieferten Modelle genauer prognostizieren, wie hoch die Netzverluste für den kommenden Tag sein werden und die Strommenge dadurch an der Börse kostengünstiger kompensieren.

Die Lösung steckt in den Daten: Eine scheinbar dünne Datenbasis wird mithilfe von Data Mining von eoda analysiert – das Ergebnis sind zuverlässige Prognosemodelle, die dem Kunden einen planbaren und dadurch kostengünstigen Zukauf der durch Netzverluste verlorenen Strommenge ermöglichen.

Ergebnis


Wir realisieren auch Ihr Projekt

Sprechen Sie uns an!