Benefit


Creation of added value for a new service module based on data and algorithms

Data


Information about the machine status in real time

Methods


Method for determining structural changes


With predictive maintenance to new customer services: Development of a "health indicator" for Schenck Process Europe GmbH

Challenge

Schenck Process is a global technology and market leader in the field of applied metrology and scores, among other things, with innovative solutions for weighing, conveying and screening. Schenck Process is planning to implement a use case from the area of predictive maintenance in order to continually develop the range of services it offers its customers. This is particularly relevant for Schenck Process, as unplanned machine failures are associated with high costs and very complex repair processes.

Schenck Process had a limited database of historical data in the run-up to the project. This contained numerous data records of machines in good condition, but only a few data sets with an assignment to specific fault cases. Based on individual specifications, each machine produced is unique.

Goal

The goal of Schenck Process is to detect changes in the condition of machines by algorithms. In concrete terms, this involves deriving a „health indicator“ that makes the machine status, which is based on sensor data, comprehensible to the user.

In order to create an adequate database, Schenck Process experts defined the current machine states and thus created the basis for training the analysis models. In the context of data management, eoda also created equidistances by interpolating missing measurement periods.

For generating the „health indicator“, eoda relied on methods for the detection of structural changes on the basis of regression models.

Important aspects in the conception of the analysis models by eoda:

  • Efficient re-training of the models: Easy transferability of the analyses to other machines.
  • Use of real-time data: Status changes in the productive system can be continuously updated.
  • Existing toolset: Schenck Process relies on the commercial Matlab software. Therefore, the algorithms and methods used can of course be reimplemented in Matlab.

 

Result

With the „health indicator“, eoda creates added value for Schenck Process in the form of a new service module. The indicator helps to automatically and proactively detect machine failures and significantly increase understanding of the machine condition.

The „health indicator“ can thus make a decisive contribution to increasing machine availability and thus customer satisfaction.

 


We also realize your data science project

Talk to us!

Vorteil


Schaffung der Mehrwerte für einen neuen Servicebaustein auf Basis von Daten und Algorithmen

Daten


Informationen über die Maschinenzustände in Echtzeit

Methoden


Verfahren zur Ermittlung von Strukturänderungen


Mit Predictive Maintenance zu neuen Kundenservices: Entwicklung eines "Health Indicators" für die Schenck Process Europe GmbH

Herausforderung

Schenck Process ist weltweiter Technologie- und Marktführer im Bereich der angewandten Messtechnik und punktet mit innovativen Lösungen unter anderem für das Wägen, Fördern und Sieben. Um das Serviceangebot für ihre Kunden stetig weiterzuentwickeln plant Schenck Process die Realisierung eines Use Cases aus dem Bereich der vorausschauenden Instandhaltung. Dies ist für Schenck Process besonders relevant, da ungeplante Maschinenausfälle mit hohen Kosten und sehr aufwändigen Reparaturprozessen verbunden sind.

Schenck Process verfügte im Vorfeld des Projekts über eine eingeschränkte Datenbasis mit historischen Daten. Diese beinhaltete zahlreiche Datensätze von Maschinen im Gut-Zustand, allerdings nur wenige Datensätze mit einer Zuordnung zu bestimmten Fehlerfällen. Aufgrund individueller Spezifikationen stellt jede hergestellte Maschine ein Unikat dar.

Ziel

Das Ziel von Schenck Process ist es, Zustandsänderungen an den Maschinen durch den Einsatz von Algorithmen zu erkennen. Konkret geht es um die Herleitung eines „Health Indicators“, der den Maschinenzustand auf Basis von Sensordaten für die Nutzer nachvollziehbar macht.

Lösung

Zur Schaffung einer adäquaten Datenbasis haben Experten von Schenck Process die jeweils aktuellen Maschinenzustände definiert und damit die Grundlage für das Training der Analysemodelle geschaffen. Im Rahmen des Datenmanagements hat eoda zusätzlich durch die Interpolation fehlender Messzeiträume Äquidistanzen hergestellt.

Für die Generierung des „Health Indicators“ hat eoda auf Verfahren zur Detektion von Strukturänderungen auf Basis von Regressionsmodellen gesetzt.

Wichtige Aspekte bei der Konzeption der Analysemodelle durch eoda:

  • Effizientes Re-Training der Modelle: Einfache Übertragbarkeit der Analysen auf andere Maschinen.
  • Einsatz von Echtzeitdaten: Zustandsänderungen im Produktivsystem können kontinuierlich aktualisiert werden.
  • Vorhandenes Toolset: Schenck Process setzt auf die kommerzielle Software Matlab. Daher sind die verwendeten Algorithmen und Methoden natürlich in Matlab reimplementierbar.

 

Ergebnis

Mit dem „Health Indicator“ schafft eoda für Schenck Process die Mehrwerte für einen neuen Servicebaustein. Der Indikator hilft, Maschinenausfälle automatisch proaktiv zu erkennen und das Verständnis für den Maschinenzustand deutlich zu erhöhen.

Damit kann der „Health Indicator“ entscheidend dazu beitragen, die Maschinenverfügbarkeiten und damit auch die Kundenzufriedenheit zu steigern.

(Bildquelle: Schenck Process Holding GmbH)


Wir realisieren auch Ihr Data-Science-Projekt

Sprechen Sie uns an!