Benefit


Development of a secure and high-performance IT infrastructure

Kind of data


Diverse data sources

Toolset


Open Source R, RStudio Server, Shiny Server Pro, GitLab & GitFlow, Jenkins, LRAN

Set-up of a analysis environment for REWE International AG

Challenge

The central challenge of this project was to understand the conflicting requirements of IT and data science. While security, reliability and maintainability are important for IT as the operator of the environment, the operating mode of data science for the user of the environment requires flexibility, high innovation speed and agility. The challenge was to find a solution that would meet the needs of both departments equally.

REWE International AG’s Group IT provides infrastructure and services for a total of six trading companies centrally. However, the individual trading companies operate independently of each other. The analysis environment must therefore be able to be managed centrally and have comprehensive rights and access management that can map workflows with individual role definitions and a granular authorisation concept.

Aim

REWE International AG needs a powerful analysis environment based on the open source programming language R for the productive use of data science. The aim of this project was to develop and implement a concept for an analysis environment that meets the specific challenges of the customer.

Solution: eoda | analytic infrastructure consulting

eoda provided REWE with comprehensive support within the framework of eoda | analytic infrastructure consulting, from determining the status quo of the analysis landscape to implementing the new analysis environment and operating it.

The Assessment

In an on-site workshop – the assessment of eoda | analytic infrastructure consulting – the requirements and expectations of the analysis environment were commonly worked out with the customer. Based on this, system engineers and data scientists from eoda developed an individualized implementation concept. The 50-sided concept includes points such as:

  • A solution for the administration of R packages and their dependencies
  • A procedure for testing and rolling out updates of the recommended applications and systems and the R packages used
  • A strategy for versioning and version management of R-analysis code
  • A solution for the time-controlled execution of R analysis
  • Options for visualizing the results

The implementation

The realization concept, which was presented by eoda, convinced responsible persons at REWE. REWE also relied on eoda’s experience and know-how for the installation and configuration of the analysis environment.

Some of the central components of the operationalization are:

  • RStudio Server: Central development environment for the data scientists of all trading companies and REWE’s IT.
  • Shiny Server Pro: System for the provision and interactive visualization of analysis results – easily scalable and allows a differentiated role and rights concept.
  • GitLab & Git/Flow: For a professional and traceable development of analyses in teams, a system for managing source code is indispensable.
  • Jenkins: Continuous integration system for time-controlled execution of R analysis. Integrates seamlessly into the branching concept and can be managed locally.
  • LRAN: Local repository for R packages in the intranet, that provides tested and approved packages for productive use.
  • In order to ensure a reliable operation of the production system, eoda has set up an identically configured test system in addition to the actual analysis environment. This is the key component of eoda’s guide for updates to ensure the stability and availability of the implemented applications and systems as well as the R packages used.

The operation

In addition to the support during the settling phase, the training of the employees in the new toolset and the receipt of detailed documentation, REWE relies on the support of eoda. In addition to make regular updates of the software components used, eoda is also available for REWE’s employees as a support provider for questions and faults.


The resume of the customer:

„The implementation concept of eoda | analytic infrastructure consulting is very well elaborated and suits to our requirements perfectly. eoda has implemented a productive analysis environment for us that meets the strict requirements of a corporate IT environment without restricting the way data science works.“

Alex Burisch | IT Organizer| REWE International Dienstleistungs GmbH


We also implement your data science infrastructure

Contact us now!

Vorteil


Aufbau einer sicheren und hochperformanten IT-Infrastruktur

Daten


Vielfältige Datenquellen

Toolset


Open Source R, RStudio Server, Shiny Server Pro, GitLab & GitFlow, Jenkins, LRAN


Aufbau einer Analyseumgebung für die REWE International AG

Ziel

Die REWE International AG benötigt für den produktiven Einsatz von Data Science eine leistungsfähige Analyseumgebung auf Basis der Open Source Programmiersprache R. Das Ziel dieses Projekts war daher die Entwicklung und Realisierung eines Konzepts für eine Analyseumgebung, welche den spezifischen Herausforderungen des Kunden gerecht wird.

Herausforderung

Die zentrale Herausforderung dieser Aufgabe lag in der Vermittlung der gegensätzlichen Anforderungen von IT und Data Science. Während für die IT als Betreiber der Umgebung Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit und Wartbarkeit wichtig sind, erfordert die Arbeitsweise von Data Science als Nutzer der Umgebung Freiheit, hohes Innovationstempo und Agilität. Es galt eine Lösung zu finden, die den Anforderungen beider Abteilungen gleichermaßen gerecht wird.

Die Konzern-IT der REWE International AG stellt Infrastruktur und Services für insgesamt sechs Handelsfirmen zentral zur Verfügung. Die einzelnen Handelsfirmen agieren jedoch voneinander unabhängig. Die Analyseumgebung muss daher zentral verwaltet werden können und über ein umfangreiches Rechte- und Zugriffsmanagement verfügen, das Workflows mit individuellen Rollendefinitionen und einem granularen Berechtigungskonzept abbilden kann.

Lösung: eoda | analytic infrastructure consulting

eoda hat REWE im Rahmen des eoda | analytic infrastructure consultings ganzheitlich von der Ermittlung des Status quo der Analyselandschaft, über die Implementierung der neuen Analyseumgebung bis hin zum Betrieb dieser unterstützt.

Das Assessment

In einem Workshop vor Ort – dem Assessment des eoda | analytic infrastructure consultings – wurden die Anforderungen und Erwartungen an die Analyseumgebung zusammen mit dem Kunden konkret herausgearbeitet. Darauf aufbauend haben Systemingenieure und Data Scientists von eoda ein individualisiertes Realisierungskonzept entwickelt. Das rund 50-seitige Konzept umfasst zum Beispiel folgende Punkte:

  • eine Lösung zur Verwaltung von R-Paketen und deren Abhängigkeiten,
  • ein Verfahren zum Testen und Ausrollen von Updates der empfohlenen Anwendungen und Systeme sowie der verwendeten R-Pakete,
  • eine Strategie zur Versionierung und Versionsverwaltung von R-Analyse-Code,
  • eine Lösung zur zeitgesteuerten Ausführung von R-Analysen und
  • Möglichkeiten zur Visualisierung der Ergebnisse

Die Implementierung

Das von eoda vorgestellte Realisierungskonzept hat die Verantwortlichen bei REWE überzeugt. Auch bei der Installation und Konfiguration der Analyseumgebung vertraute REWE auf die Erfahrung und das Know-how von eoda.

Die zentralen Bausteine der Operationalisierung sind unter anderem:

  • RStudio Server: Zentrale Entwicklungsumgebung für die Data Scientists aller Handelsfirmen sowie der REWE-IT.
  • Shiny Server Pro: System zur Bereitstellung und interaktiven Visualisierung von Analyseergebnissen – leicht skalierbar und erlaubt ein differenziertes Rollen- und Rechtekonzept.
  • GitLab & Git/Flow: Für eine professionelle und nachvollziehbare Entwicklung von Analysen in Teams ist ein System zur Verwaltung von Source Code unerlässlich.
  • Jenkins: Continuous-Integration-System zur zeitgesteuerten Ausführung der R-Analysen. Integriert sich nahtlos in das Branching-Konzept und lässt sich dezentral verwalten.
  • LRAN: Lokales Repository für R-Pakete im Intranet, welches getestete und zugelassene Pakete für den produktiven Einsatz bereitstellt.

Um den zuverlässigen Betrieb des Produktivsystems zu gewährleisten hat eoda neben der eigentlichen Analyseumgebung auch ein identisch konfiguriertes Testsystem aufgebaut. Dieses ist die Schlüsselkomponente des von eoda erarbeiteten Leitfadens für Aktualisierungen um die Stabilität und Verfügbarkeit der implementierten Anwendungen und Systeme sowie der verwendeten R-Pakete sicherzustellen.

Der Betrieb

Über die Unterstützung im Laufe der Einschwingphase, die Schulung der beteiligten Mitarbeiter im neuen Toolset sowie den Erhalt einer ausführlichen Dokumentation hinaus vertraut REWE auf die Unterstützung von eoda. Neben der Durchführung regelmäßiger Updates der eingesetzten Softwarekomponenten steht eoda den REWE-Mitarbeitern als Supportanbieter bei Fragen und Störungen zur Verfügung.

Das Fazit des Kunden

„Das Realisierungskonzept des eoda | analytic infrastructure consulting ist sehr gut durchdacht und passt voll und ganz zu unseren Anforderungen. eoda hat für uns eine produktive Analyseumgebung implementiert, die die strengen Anforderungen einer Konzern-IT erfüllt, ohne dabei die Arbeitsweise von Data Science einzuschränken.“

Alex Burisch | IT-Organisator | REWE International Dienstleistungs GmbH


Wir realisieren auch Ihre Data-Science-Infrastruktur

Sprechen Sie uns an!